Week #7 : Shifting Thoughts

There are seasons in life that seem to be more challenging than others. Times where it feels more difficult to have faith–and believe that it is all going to “pan out.” And just when you think you’ve reached your limit, and you can handle no more, life dishes out something else. It is also in these moments, when our strength, character, determination and faith are truly put to the test. And man oh’ man, has it been one of those times for me lately!

As I experienced first hand the major life transition of helping my cousin move to her ‘empty nest’, I was faced with the dual exercise of starting Emmet Fox’s “The Seven Day Mental diet“. Mr. Fox implores: “Make up your mind to devote one week solely to the task of building a new habit of thought, and during that week let everything in life be unimportant as compared with that.” It sounds easy, but you might be surprised how often your brain is engaged in unproductive, fearful, worrisome, or destructive thinking. Fox states that our goal is to learn how to discipline yourself to be able to change your state and thinking rapidly, without indulging in them.  It’s about developing mastery of your mental and emotional well-being.

So it got me thinking.. We’re constantly detoxing our body, cleaning house, showering, washing clothes and dishes..  We work pretty hard to keep purity in our lives.  So why aren’t we cleaning out our dirty thoughts?

no-negative-thoughts-allowed

I embraced the challenge openly for I have faith that the universe is guiding me to what it will really takes to change. I facilitated the immense challenge of guiding her through the process to downsize her belongings. I witnessed many times when emotions ran very deep given the attachment she had to certain items of furniture; her items of the past. The beauty revealed itself on the actual moving day when I witnessed a long warm embrace from her grown daughter.

As I restarted my ‘diet’ countless times in the past few days, I am hearing the word “intent” in my mind wanting my attention.  A word I’m familiar with, but at this moment, I feel the need to look up its definition.

Intent or Intention 

-something that is intended; purpose; design

-an act or instance of determining mentally upon some action or result

The next sentence that catches my attention on the page is that “in mathematics, two angles that are said to coincide, fit together perfectly. The word coincidence then does not describe luck or mistakes. It describes that which fits together perfectly.”

As I ponder this thought, my daughter enters the room with her laptop and wants to share this video with me…happy moments… a happy coincidence…enjoy! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Week #7 : Shifting Thoughts

Leave a comment